Tuesday 11 September 2012


This weekend was a special celebration for McWilliam’s Wines when the Riverina Winemakers Association presented two of their wines the highest awards at the show. The 2010 Zeppelin Amelie Shiraz (Eden Valley) was named ‘Best Dry Red’ of the show and the 2010 Armchair Critic Chardonnay (Tumbarumba) claimed the ‘Best Dry White’ Trophy. And it was the Chardonnay that impressed the judges the most and was awarded the ultimate title of ‘Best Still Wine of Show’.

Jim Brayne, Chief Operating Officer at McWilliam’s Wines said, “We are obviously over the moon to win these awards. Zeppelin and Armchair Critic are relatively new brands to our portfolio so to receive this recognition is a really strong endorsement of our work in these regions and with these wines. The results really reward the team’s hard work and spur us on for the future.”

The other highly anticipated Popular Premium category saw a Trophy awarded to De Bortoli Wines’ 2010 db Petite Sirah. The Riverina Wine Show is unique in its aim to specifically recognise the quality of “Popular Premium” wines - those wines which are widely available to the general public, with production runs of at least 45,000 litres (the equivalent of around 60,000 bottles). As Chair of Judges Ben Edwards (co-contributor to James Halliday’s Wine Companion and President of Sommeliers Australia) puts it, “Trophies that highlight to the consumer that big really can be beautiful!”

De Bortoli Wines not only collected the ‘Best Popular Premium red wine’ Trophy but were also awarded the title of overall ‘Most Successful Exhibitor’ (as well as ‘Most Successful Exhibitor of Still Wines made from Local Fruit’) flying the flag for local producers at the show. Full list of Trophy winners below …

Judging was held at Woodside Hall, Griffith Showgrounds on Tuesday 4th and 5th September and the winners were announced at the Awards Presentation luncheon on Saturday 8th September in conjunction with the Griffith Jockey Clubs race day.

Trophy winning wines at the 2012 Riverina Wine Show:

1] Best Semillon - sponsored by the Riverina Winemakers Association

McGuigan Vineyard Select Semillon 2005 (Hunter Valley)
2] Best Semillon Blend - sponsored by the Riverina Winemakers Association
Tempus Two Semillon Sauvignon Blanc 2012 (Hunter Valley)

3] Best Dry White, Floral Styles - sponsored by Braid Logistics Australia

Dorrien Estate Bin 4 Riesling 2012 (Barossa Valley)

4] Best Dry White, Other Varieties - sponsored by Amcor

Nugan Estate Frasca’s Lane Pinot Grigio 2011 (Riverina)

5] Best Chardonnay 1yo - donated by the Griffith Show Society

Tightrope Walker 2011 Chardonnay (Yarra Valley)

6] Best Chardonnay over 1 yo - sponsored by the Riverina Winemakers Association

Armchair Critic 2010 Chardonnay (Tumbarumba)

7] Best Shiraz - sponsored by Collier and Miller

Zeppelin Amelie 2010 Shiraz (Eden Valley)

8] Best Cabernet Sauvignon - sponsored by Patrick Portlink

Brand’s Laira One Seven One Cabernet Sauvignon 2009 (Coonawarra)

9] Best Durif - sponsored by the AEB Group

De Bortoli Wines 2010 db Petite Sirah (Riverina)

10] Best Dry Red, other varieties - sponsored by Riverina Winemakers Association

The Wine Society 2011 Society Tasmanian Pinot Noir (Tasmania)

11] Best Dry Red Blend - sponsored by Diverse Barrel Solutions

Brand’s Laira August Tide Merlot Cabernet 2010 (Coonawarra)

12] Best Fortified, Sweet Style – sponsored by Tarac Technologies

Morris Wines Old Premium Liqueur Tokay (Rutherglen)

13] Best Fortified, Australian Fortified Red Style – sponsored by Collotype Labels

Angove 2010 Vintage Fortified Shiraz (Riverland)

14] Best Still Wine from Riverina Fruit - sponsored by the Wine Grapes Marketing Board

De Bortoli Wines 2010 db Petite Sirah (Riverina)

15] Best Popular Premium red wine - sponsored by Woolworth’s Liquor Group

De Bortoli Wines 2010 db Petite Sirah (Riverina)

16] Best Dry Red - sponsored by Riverina Winemakers Association

Zeppelin Amelie 2010 Shiraz (Eden Valley)

17] Best Dry White - sponsored by the Port of Melbourne

Armchair Critic 2010 Chardonnay (Tumbarumba)

18] Best Still Wine of Show - the Ian Bicego Trophy

Armchair Critic 2010 Chardonnay (Tumbarumba)

19] Most Successful Exhibitor of Still Wines made from Local Fruit - sponsored by A & G

De Bortoli Wines

20] Most Successful Exhibitor - sponsored by Sydney Ports Corporation

De Bortoli Wines

No comments: