Thursday 1 October 2015

Maurice O’Shea Award Dinner to partner with key wine conferences in July 2016

McWilliam’s CEO Rob Blackwell

McWilliam’s Wines, the Australian Wine Industry Technical Conference & Trade Exhibition (AWITC) and the Winemakers’ Federation of Australia (WFA) are pleased to announce that the 2016 McWilliam’s Maurice O’Shea Award Event will be held in Adelaide on Monday 25 July 2016. The Maurice O’Shea Award Dinner will take place in conjunction with the 16th AWITC and the WFA Outlook Conference which are being held as a combined event in Adelaide from 24 to 28 July 2016.

McWilliam’s CEO Rob Blackwell said “McWilliam’s Wines is delighted to continue its association with the WFA Outlook Conference and to join for the first time with the AWITC. We look forward to welcoming delegates from the combined conference to the dinner.”

AWITC Chair, Dr Dan Johnson responded “The McWilliam’s Maurice O’Shea Award Dinner is widely regarded as the most prestigious event on the Australian wine industry calendar. It’s very exciting to be able to align this dinner with the 16th AWITC and Outlook. The Maurice O’Shea Award Dinner adds another very compelling reason for our industry to be in Adelaide from 24 to 28 July 2016”

WFA Chief Executive Paul Evans said “The combination of these major events back-to-back provides exceptional value for attendees and it promises to be a showcase week not to be missed. The Federation welcomes the opportunity to partner again with McWilliam’s and the Maurice O’Shea Dinner and I encourage members of our industry to circle the dates.”

Conference delegates will be able to book tickets to the Maurice O’Shea Award Dinner as part of their registration, which opens in February. Tickets will also be available directly from McWilliam’s Wines.

The McWilliam’s Maurice O’Shea Award recognises an individual, brand, institute, activity or entity that has made a historically significant contribution to the Australian wine industry. Nominations will be invited from across the wine industry in February.

Previous winners of the Maurice O’Shea Award are:

• Dr Peter Dry (2014)
• The Australian Screwcap Initiative (2012)
• Philip Laffer AM (2010)
• Dr John Gladstones (2008)
• The late Dr Ray Beckwith OAM (2006)
• The late Guenter Prass AM (2004)
• Australian Wine Research Institute (2002)
• Dr Wolf Blass AM (2000)
• The late Dr Bryce Rankine AM (1998)
• Brian Croser AO (1997)
• Hazel Murphy AM (1996)
• James Halliday AM (1995)
• The Jacob’s Creek Brand (1994)
• The late David Wynn AO (1993)
• The late Ron Potter OAM (1992)
• The late Len Evans OBE AO (1991)
• The late Max Schubert AM (1990)

No comments: