Friday 6 November 2015

2015 NSW Wine Awards Results

2015 Pier One Sydney Harbour NSW Wine Awards


The 18 Trophy-winning wines and winemakers in the 2015 Pier One Sydney Harbour NSW Wine Awards were presented with their highly-coveted awards at a sold-out Presentation Lunch at Pier One Sydney Harbour, attended by the who's-who of the wine industry, media and NSW Government.

With judges awarding a record number of gold medals in this year's NSW Wine Awards, competition for trophies was especially tough. The trophy winners represent the very best of the best.

Collotype Trophy for Best Young Riesling ~ 2015 Colmar Estate Riesling (Orange)

NSW DPI Trophy for Best Young Semillon ~ 2013 McGuigan Bin 9000 Semillon (Hunter Valley)

Trophy for Best Young Sauvignon Blanc ~ 2015 Cooks Lot Allotment 689 Sauvignon Blanc (Orange)

Longfellow's Trophy for Best Young Chardonnay ~ 2014 First Creek Winemakers Reserve Chardonnay (Hunter Valley)

Trophy for Best Young White Other Varieties ~ 2014 Topper's Mountain Gew├╝rztraminer (New England)

Trophy for Best Mature Dry White ~ 2009 Brokenwood Wines ILR Reserve Semillon (Hunter Valley)

Trophy for Best Young Pinot Noir ~ 2014 Colmar Estate Pinot Noir (Orange)

Orora Stelvin Trophy for Best Young Shiraz ~ 2014 Nick O'Leary Wines Shiraz (Canberra District)

Riedel Trophy for Best Young Cabernet Sauvignon ~ 2014 Moppity Vineyards Lock & Key Reserve Cabernet (Hilltops)

Trophy for Best Young Other Red Varieties ~ 2014 Tamburlaine Wines Reserve Malbec (Orange)

Trophy for Best Young Red Blend ~ 2014 De Iuliis Shiraz Touriga LDR Vineyard (Hunter Valley)

StarTrack Trophy for Best Mature Red ~ 2011 De Iuliis Shiraz Limited Release (Hunter Valley)

NSW DPI Award for Best Organic Wine ~ 2014 Tamburlaine Wines Reserve Malbec (Orange)

CiSRA Canon Trophy for Best Sparkling Wine ~ 2002 Courabyra "805" (Tumbarumba)

Trophy for Best Sweet Wine ~ 2013 Bunnamagoo Estate Autumn Semillon (Mudgee)

Trophy Best Dry White   ~ 2014 First Creek Winemakers Reserve Chardonnay (Hunter Valley)

Clear Image Trophy for Best Dry Red ~ 2014 Nick O'Leary Wines Shiraz (Canberra District)

And it is from these latter 4 top trophies that the ultimate title of 'Pier One Sydney Harbour 2015 NSW Wine of the Year' has been meticulously chosen and will be awarded to … 2014 Nick O'Leary Wines Shiraz.

This is a great success for Canberra District based winery Nick O'Leary Wines and even more impressive when noted that a Nick O'Leary wine won the 2014 Wine of the Year Trophy! The first time a winery has won back-to-back Wine of the Year Trophies.              

President of the NSW Wine Industry Association and Awards judge Tom Ward said, "Nick O'Leary and the Canberra District wine region can deservedly celebrate this weekend with another outstanding achievement. And the rest of the State has a lot to be happy about too with the 2015 trophies going to 7 different wine regions in total and again showcasing the quality and diversity of wines available from all over NSW."

Over the 20 years the NSW Wine Awards has been running, there has been a continual increase in interest in the Awards from wine producers, wine sellers, the public and new corporate sponsors, signifying the real support for our local wine industry and its connection with both tourism and food. This interest has been backed by a continued increase in sales of NSW wines in the domestic market, especially in Sydney.

No comments: