Tuesday 4 October 2011

Canberra wines score well in NSW Top 40

Media Release
Five Canberra District wines have just been named in the NSW Top 40 wines at the 2011 Citibank NSW Wine Awards.

“The fact that Canberra District wines can take five of the top 40 spots is testament to the quality of cool climate wines being produced in our region,” said Brad Schafferius, the new President of the Canberra District Wine Industry Association.

The Canberra District wines named in the top 40 were Capital Wines for the 2011 The Whip Riesling, Eden Road for the 2010 Gundagai Shiraz, Mount Majura Vineyard for the 2010 Tempranillo, Nick O’Leary for the 2010 Shiraz, and Ravensworth for the 2009 Shiraz Viognier.

The Citibank NSW Wine Awards were created in 1996 to build awareness of the quality of wines produced in NSW. Entries were judged by five panels of four judges comprising retailers, sommeliers and winemakers. The judging was chaired by Huon Hooke with panel chairs Philip Shaw, Corey Ryan, Nick Bullied, PJ Charteris and Mike De Garis.

“Some of the district’s wineries are relatively small in comparison to some of the other wineries that entered the awards, so this is again more recognition of the fact that our winemakers are creating wines that can match it with the best in the state, and across several wine varieties,” Brad concluded.

For more information on wines and wineries of the Canberra District go to www.canberrawines.com.au

No comments: